Guide for residents and visitors on accessible parking in Hillsborough County
Accessible parking spaces are mandatory for all parking facilities, and require Americans with Disabilities Act standards for accessible design. This includes businesses and privately owned facilities that provide some kind of goods or services.
What are the accessible parking basics?
- It is unlawful for any person to park a vehicle or to obstruct specially designated and marked parking space, unless the vehicle displays a disabled parking permit
- The parking space must allow for a person in a wheelchair to adequately open their door and get their wheelchair out of their vehicle
- Any facility offering parking for employees or visitors must provide accessible parking
- The entire space must be clear of obstructions at all times, including bicycle racks, seasonal garden displays, shopping carts, and trash cans
How many accessible spaces are businesses required to have?
The amount of standard accessible spaces depends on the size of the lot and the amount of spots. For example, a lot with a capacity of 76 to 100 vehicles would need four standard spaces, whereas a lot with a capacity of 401 to 500 vehicles would need nine spots. The amount of van-accessible spaces, then, relies on the standard spaces. For every six standard accessible spaces, at least one has to be van-accessible.
Where are they located?
Accessible spaces should be located on the shortest possible accessible pedestrian route to the entrance of a facility. All spaces must be accessible to a curb ramp, or curb cut, when necessary to allow access to the structure.
Are there size requirements for accessible spaces?
Yes, diagonal or perpendicular accessible parking spaces must be at least 12 feet wide with an adjacent five-foot access aisle. If it's adjacent to an elevated sidewalk above the pavement, there must be a curb ramp sloping up to the sidewalk providing an accessible route that is at least 44 inches wide to the main entrance of the facility. Access aisles must be diagonally striped in white paint to designate a no-parking zone.
What is the fine for parking in an accessible parking space?
How do you obtain an accessible parking permit?
Submit an application form HSMV 83039, signed by a physician within the last 12 months, to your local tax collector's office with appropriate payment for temporary permits only. In addition to the completed form, be sure to bring a copy of your Florida driver's license or Florida identification card.
After you have been issued a parking permit, you will receive a renewal notice before your next expiration date.
If you have any questions concerning the parking permit program, contact your local Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles service center.