This Committee was created to provide advice and recommendations to curb and eliminate all forms of bullying throughout Hillsborough County

View Anti-Bullying Advisory Committee Events


The membership of this Committee shall be appointed by the BOCC and shall be comprised of 13 members. Composition is specified as follows:

Seven members will represent the following governing bodies:

  • City of Tampa Police Department, designated by the Chief
  • Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Department, designated by the Sheriff
  • Florida Department of Children and Families, designated by Regional Director
  • Hillsborough County School Board
  • Hillsborough County Children’s Services Department psychologist or mental health counselor, designated by the Director
  • University of South Florida College of Education or the Louis de la Parte Mental Health Institute, designated by President of USF
  • Department of Juvenile Justice Hillsborough County Neighborhood Accountability Board in the Thirteenth Judicial Circuit, designated by Director of Court Programs

Six members shall represent the following categories:

  • 2 - Child welfare advocacy organization such as Guardian Ad Litem, Parent Teacher Association, Parent Teacher Organization, Boys and Girls Club, Joshua House, YMCA, YWCA, or other such organizations
  • Private sponsor(s) selected to participate with the County in the Anti-Bullying initiative
  • An organization who works directly with troubled youth such as those with emotional or mental handicaps
  • 2 - Members at-large


Members shall serve three year terms; initially staggered. Governing body representatives shall serve at the pleasure of the appointing body or person.

Special requirements

Subject to F.S. 286.011, also known as the Sunshine Law.
Appointment to this Committee is contingent upon passing a criminal background check.


BOCC Resolution No. R09-100, adopted August 5, 2009.


Every other month, 4th Thursday, unless noted, 10 AM
County Center, 18th Floor, Conf. Rm. 1827W

February 2024
Last Modified: 2/16/2024, 5:52:46 PM
Ms. Kasondra Arone-Miller
BOCC - Child Welfare Advocacy Organization
9/8/2022 - 6/30/2024
Ms. Laura Byrne
BOCC - Private Sponsor Participating in the Anti-Bullying Initiative
1/17/2024 - 3/31/2027 *
Ms. Wanda Dunmore
BOCC - Representative from an organization that works directly with troubled youth
11/6/2019 - 1/19/2026 *
Ms. Rhonda Flowers
BOCC - At-Large Member
10/17/2018 - 4/19/2026 *
Ms. Shannan Harris
BOCC - At-Large Member
4/19/2023 - 4/19/2026
Dr. Lauren Huff
BOCC - Child Welfare Advocacy Organization
1/19/2023 - 3/31/2024
Mr. Joshua Kristol
Hillsborough County Public Schools
Corporal Gerald Lovett
City of Tampa Police Department
Dr. Tom Massey
University of South Florida
Sergeant Watts Sanderson
Hillsborough County Sheriff's Office
Ms. Angie Smith
Department of Juvenile Justice - 13th Judicial Circuit
Ms. Jeannie Willsie
Hillsborough County Children's Services Department Representative
Ms. Mechell Young-Williams
Florida Department of Children and Families
Ms. Ailyn Flores
Representative from a child welfare advocacy organization
4/1/2024 - 3/31/2027

* reappointed

Was this page helpful?